Thanksgiving in a Harvest Year

I’m blogging by phone, typing precariously with one finger as I lay in the stroke unit of St. E’s hospital with an IV stuck into my elbow. It is a soft, flexible needle, but it tends to jab when I bend the arm too much.

It was only a wee little stroke… happened Monday night while I was doing dishes. I kind of knew it, but didn’t want to… only symptom was a sudden loss of vision in my right eye. That could just be an eye problem, right? So, I went to the eye doc on Tuesday. She examined my eyes and told me to go straight to the ER. So that’s how I ended up here, still in the hospital stroke unit, on Thanksgiving Day.

My sister Jai reminded me of a family saying while texting to say I love you, “if you make it past thanksgiving, you get a whole another year” which may sound a bit morbid, but a lot of our relatives tend to die before the holidays. My grandma Goldie and her mother both died right on Thanksgiving Days.

I told Jai not to worry… I have absolutely no intention of staging a grand exit this year. And who knows? Maybe being right here, with the blood thinners and all, will prevent my untimely demise. All I’ve got to do is make it through today… and the same goes for everyone else… survive today and be okay. Thanks for reading!

Comments

