Kiddie Art

wpid-img_20150201_164634.jpg

Everyone colors at grandmas, but not in coloring books.  If you want lines, draw your own… although grandma will give you a swirl or something if you ask.  We talk color, compliments and neutrals, experiment with shading and blending… try this or that, see what happens, but bottom line is do what you want… it’s your art.

wpid-img_20150201_164746.jpg

DJ (says he’s 11 now)

wpid-img_20150201_164834.jpg

Zarah (age 6)

 

Scribble art by Zeth (age 2) and Zavie (age 3)

Scribble art by Zeth (age 2) and Zavie (age 3)

I’ve been told that I ruin kids for school, where coloring neatly within the lines using only one color of crayon per section will achieve the desired result, so we use paper and Prismacolor pencils instead of coloring books and crayons.

I am making a conscious effort to zone into things that really matter – art, peace, children, music, friendships, etc. It is kind of like choosing my battles wisely, as even though there are things here that hit me crooked and I know they are not right, advocating for change renders nothing.  All it does is waste my energy, like beating my head on a brick wall. Is it my problem? No… so I took a line from Paul Simon’s Gumboots and called the whole thing to a halt.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kiddie Art

Comments

