Woe Techno

image

1.  Photo snapped by cell phone slightly crooked and cropped.

technowoe

2.  Image scanned via Microsoft Paint (200 res, -500 brightness as zero looks washed out)

My new HP computer came with a “basic” print driver installed for my HP printer.  I have spent countless hours trying to download and install the “full feature” print driver from the HP website.   It gets ye so far into the install process and pops up a message box that says “can’t find file” and I am pretty sure that the file it can’t find was supposed to be included in that download.  My printer is off warranty now so I cannot email technical support.  It will not let me.  They do have a “Smart Friend” support option at several price points.  I’m not paying $99 or even $14.95 (the cheapest option) to walk me through a bogus fix.  The printer is working fine… it is their software (or lack there of) that is screwed.   I tried popping the CD that came with the printer even though Windows 8.1 is not on the list of supported systems.  I was thinking that if I can install that first, then maybe it can be upgraded.  No luck.  The CD opens up to a box and a message to click INSTALL with only one problem:  there is no install button.  The only visible button is EXIT.  I downloaded and installed the HP Print Doctor, which directed me back to the download full feature driver website, so I tried to download it again using a different browser.  It is ridiculous!  What am I supposed to do?  Toss a perfectly good, less than two years old HP printer into a landfill and go buy a new one with an up to date print driver CD in the box?

Back to the Print Doctor, click, click.  Oh, what’s this?  A suggestion to use someone else’s software to access the scan function on my HP printer?  How lovely.  The example stated was Microsoft Paint.

Digital photography isn’t much of an option until I find (or buy a replacement) USB cord for my “less than ten years old but now so obsolete a pawn shop won’t take it” Minolta D7 because this new PC does NOT have a slot big enough for the camera’s SD memory card.  My sister suggested a way to wiggle around that.  She said photo machines might have a slot to fit my card.  If so, I can pay to have photos burnt onto a CD.

All this techno stuff is supposed to make everything easier, more user friendly and it is, until you hit a snag.  Trying to fix a simple problem is a major complication.

I miss the days when things were simple.  Take cars, they are all over-engineered and complicated now.  Anyone remember the straight six?  There was so much room under the hood, everything laid out kind of simple and easy to find, so even a “girl” like me could crawl in there with a Chilton’s book and do her own minor repairs.

Guess that makes me a straight six girl in a complicated techno world.  Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Woe Techno

  1. I hear ya Nancy…wish I could help. When I get stuck in techno land I go on-line to Google and drop my question / problem into the box…I almost always am directed to a forum somewhere where others are struggling with the same or similar problems…it might take some patience and a lot of reading but 90% of the time I eventually find an answer…good luck

Comments

